Moore County Towns & Villages
Towns & Villages
Escape to Something Different
Need a break from the everyday? The Pinehurst, Southern Pines, Aberdeen area is the perfect place to relax and recharge. Here, natural beauty meets timeless charm, inviting you to slow down, explore, and discover hidden gems. Each town and village has its own unique character, but all share warm welcomes, local stories, and experiences that will keep you coming back for more.

Aberdeen
Aberdeen’s roots stretch back to the 1700s, when Scottish Highlanders settled along the Cape Fear River. Once called Bethesda, then Blue’s Crossing, the town grew after the Civil War with new businesses, farming, and the arrival of the railroad. Today, Aberdeen blends historic charm with vibrant shops, restaurants, and hotels – and even hosts the quirky Sardine Festival! Learn more at www.TownOfAberdeen.net.

Southern Pines
Founded in 1887 by James T. Patrick, Southern Pines was originally designed to be a health resort and stopover for northern travelers, with the railroad at its center. Over time, the Boyd family shaped its legacy, building Weymouth Heights, fostering a vibrant literary scene, and creating an equestrian tradition that still thrives today with the Walthour Moss Foundation and nearby horse farms. Today, Southern Pines charms visitors with horse country, quaint shops, local dining, and beloved events like SpringFest, the Christmas Parade, and First Eve. Learn more at www.SouthernPines.net.

Pinehurst
In 1895, James Walker Tufts set out to build an affordable health resort, and with help from famed landscape designer Frederick Law Olmsted, the Village of Pinehurst was created in just seven months. When visitors started showing up with golf clubs, Tufts leaned in, hiring golf architect Donald Ross in 1900 to design what would become the legendary Pinehurst No. 2. Now a designated National Historic Landmark, the resort has hosted multiple U.S. Opens. Today, the Village of Pinehurst offers not only world-class golf, but also charming shops, boutiques, and restaurants. Learn more at www.vopnc.org.

Cameron
Cameron’s story began with the arrival of the Raleigh & Augusta Railroad in 1857, later becoming a bustling town named for railroad official Paul Cameron. By the late 1800s, it was home to the Muse Brothers Store, once the largest department store between Richmond and Augusta. In 1892, Cameron earned fame as the “Dewberry Capital of the World,” a legacy still savored in local jams and desserts. Today, Cameron is best known for its antique shops and the popular Antique Street Fair held each May and October, drawing treasure hunters from near and far. Learn more at townofcameron.com.

Carthage
Carthage, the oldest town in Moore County, was incorporated in 1796 and remains the county seat. Its historic district boasts more than 50 pre-Civil War buildings and homes. From the 1850s to 1920s, Carthage thrived as the home of the Tyson & Jones Buggy Factory, once producing thousands of horse-drawn carriages a year. While the buggy industry faded with the automobile, the town still celebrates this heritage each May at the family-friendly Carthage Buggy Festival. Learn more at townofcarthage.org.

Foxfire
The Village of Foxfire, about seven miles southwest of Pinehurst, was settled by English and Scottish pioneers in the 18th century. Originally called Piney Bottom, the area grew from timber and agriculture – cotton, tobacco, corn, rye, peaches, and vineyards. Incorporated in 1977, Foxfire sits on one of Moore County’s highest elevations and is known today as a scenic, resort-style golf community with new residential tracts and horse farms. Learn more at www.foxfirenc.com.

Pinebluff
In 1884, John Patrick bought 772 acres, with the vision to duplicate Southern Pines and create a second resort town. He named streets after fruits and nuts, and the avenues after northern cities. Patrick worked for 20 years at attracting new residents to Pinebluff before disastrous fires stunted the town’s development. Later, Dr. John W. Achorn and his family helped Pinebluff grow into a pleasant residential community. Today, it’s home to retirees, military families, and working professionals, with recreational life centered around Pinebluff Lake. Learn more at townofpinebluffnc.org.

Robbins
The town of Robbins has roots that go back to the American Revolution. Alexander Kennedy, a gunsmith from Philadelphia, built a gun factory on the falls of Bear Creek, near present day Robbins. The business was very successful given the demand for rifles during the war. Due to the success of his business, many factories were established and the town became known as Mechanics Hill. There was a small gold strike that kept the town going until the Durham-Charlotte railroad came through in 1904. It was around this time that John Lenning, a wealthy businessman and railroad builder laid out the streets to a new town nearby. In honor of his contribution the town was named after his daughter, Elise.
The community grew and once again the name was changed to “Hemp” as more textile manufacturing came to the area in the early 1900’s. In 1930, a Russian immigrant, Karl Robbins purchased the Pinehurst Silk Mills in order to improve its operations and make it state-of-the-art. Many of the residents were employed by the mill which was a blessing during the Depression years. The citizens of Hemp honored Robbins in 1943 by renaming the town after him. It was recognition well deserved for a many that had done so much for the town.
Today Robbins is a quaint town about halfway between Pinehurst and Seagrove. With the economic shifts in the last decades, the town is beginning to focus on outdoor recreational activities for tourists and promotes hometown businesses and potteries that reflect the small town hospitality that has carried it through many changes and challenges. www.townofrobbins.com

Seven Lakes
Nestled among Longleaf pines lies the gated resort of Seven Lakes, just ten miles west of Pinehurst. Planned thirty years ago as a summer home and retirement community, it is now the fastest growing area in Moore County. Seven Lakes is a well-balanced mix of retirees and young professionals with children. There are three separate gated communities – Seven Lakes West, North, and South. The area is named for its seven spring-fed lakes. Fred Lawrence, a Sanford businessman developed the original project in 1973. Lake Auman, an 820-acre lake is found in the Seven Lakes West community.
Seven Lakes offers a wide range of activities such as boating, fishing, swimming, tennis, picnic shelters, play grounds, water sports and community centers. Seven Lakes offers its own public stables providing horseback and equestrian sports for its residents. Beacon Ridge Golf Course and a members-owned Seven Lakes Country Club are both rated four-star. Both clubs have very active tennis programs.
While remaining an affordable place to live, Seven Lakes combines all the small town elements of a resort getaway with the comforts of a private gated community.

Vass
Vass was settled by Scotsmen and has had many names over the years. Originally known as Bynum, for Joseph Bynum, an early settler, it later became Winder after Major Winder, an officer with the Raleigh & Augusta Railroad. But the name that remains today came from Major William Worrell Vass, another railroad official. Major Vass was a longtime paymaster for the Seaboard Air Line Railroad Company.
Vass was a bustling town for commerce and agriculture, a railroad center and even a publishing center. Today it is a town noted for its community involvement and wholesome leadership. As an example, Vass residents Phil and Pasty Keith donated the building that houses the library (a Veterans Memorial). Books and funds were donated from the residents of Vass and the Bill and Belinda Gates Foundation donated state of the art computers. www.townofvassnc.gov

West End
In 1890, between Aberdeen and Carthage, traveling through the woodlands would bring you to Daniel McDonalds turpentine distillery. To help with the transportation of timber and naval stores from the fields to the commercial areas, McDonald cleared a path for a railway from Southern Pines to his turpentine distillery. Soon a non-traditional railway was constructed. It had wooden rails on huge cross ties and mule drawn cars were pulled along these ways, fetching timber from both sides of the tracts. The Aberdeen and Asheboro Railroad was completed along the McDonald right of way, in 1890. At the most western end, a town sprung up called West End.
Sadly, the Great Fire of 1898 destroyed all thirteen buildings in the downtown area of West End except for the railroad depot and the drugstore. In later years, the Sandhills Furniture Corporation mill was built and enjoyed many years of success. In 1965, Sandhills Furniture Corporation was sold to Stanley Furniture Company. Stanley Furniture Company was the largest employer in Moore County before it closed its doors in early 2000. Today West End offers wonderful neighborhoods and quick access to both Seven Lakes and Pinehurst.

Whispering Pines
Back in the late 1700s, Charles Hurd and Nicholas Smith received land grants from the king of England, and the area we now call Whispering Pines was born. Many others bought and sold the area’s properties and lakes throughout the 18th and 19th centuries, but it was A.B. Hardee who realized the land’s ultimate potential when he purchased 400 acres in 1959.
Hardee developed his tract into a private golf course and residential community, and in just ten years, Whispering Pines became the first municipality in North Carolina to be designated as a village. Today, Whispering Pines covers over 2,000 acres, features six lakes, sixteen miles of paved roads, two semi-private golf courses and an abundance of pristine stands of pines and hardwoods. In addition, there are a number of quaint small towns throughout Moore County where you can enjoy the timeless traditions of southern hospitality. To learn more, visit www.whisperingpinesnc.net