Moore County African American Trail

Moore County African American Trail

African-American history runs deep in the roots of Moore County.  From saving a town to sharing the most powerful moments on the golf course and everything in between. This is a rich history worth sharing and celebrating for all who live and visit Moore County. This collection of history is currently being researched, please visit this page again, as information is gathered. If you have information to share, please contact Ashley at:


Explore this trail by your personal vehicle at your own rate. Locations are throughout Moore County

Cardinal Park in Pinebluff, NC
Cardinal Park

Cardinal Park is a beautiful recreation facility was established in 1962 by the late entrepreneur, businessman, and philanthropist Felton J. Capel, Sr. The 37-acre rolling parkland includes a 9-acre spring-fed lake, picnic areas, and five shelters that can be rented for private events. It has a rich history with the African American community in Moore County. For many years, the park served as one of the only places that welcomed African-Americans. As the years went on, Cardinal Park’s lake and sandy beach became the place to be in the summer. The Pilot Newspaper stated, “Felton J. Capel, Sr. is known for his role in helping to peacefully desegregate restaurants, movie theaters, golf courses and bowling alleys in Moore County with his good friend Voit Gilmore by his side.”



Cardinal Park, Pinebluff, NC
West Southern Pines

West Southern Pines, whose population was comprised entirely of African Americans, became one of the first chartered towns, governed by, and for a minority, in 1923. In 1931, the dominantly white East side, annexed the West.


Redefining Revitalization in West Southern Pines a UNC Chapel Hill Initiative

The Pilot Newspaper Work Continues to Create African American Exhibit 

Pinestraw Magazine City on a Hill 



Former elementary school, paved service. Parking and accessible parking available.

Slave Cemetery

Salve cemetery located in Pinewild. New research is unearthing the history of this cemetery. Traditionally, graves were marked with wood cut 1″ thick, and 6″ wide, rounded at the top. According to researcher Brenda Sutton Rose “Slave burials usually took place at night when family and friends were no longer in the fields and when slaves from neighboring farms and plantations might be able to attend.” Picture courtesy of Mitch Capel.


Currently, this site is not open to the public.

Greenville Elementary School Site

294 Atkins Rd (connected to the Rosenwald Schools)
The Rosenwald School was a partnership between the Cameron community which had to raise one half of the cost with Julius Rosenwald matching to build the black schoolhouse east of the Town of Cameron, NC.
Information about Rosenwald Schools from our National Parks.

Anchor North Carolina History Resources on Rosenwald Schools.

List of all Rosenwald Schools in North Carolina


This site is not open to the public, but there is signage indicating its historic location.

The Caddies of Pinehurst


Willie McRae, Legendary Pinehurst Caddy  By Ryan Harrington

The Caddy Experience at Pinehurst by Jim Davis


Currently there is no site to visit to commemorate this historic achievements in Pinehurst area golf history.

Tyson & Jones Buggy Company



Buggy Company Historical Marker Information

William T. Jones, Mixed Race Study

“Factory Reboot” Article by Ray Owen

Carthage Mural, Tyson & Jones Buggy Company Video



There is a mural you may visit in a paved parking lot in Carthage at 104 McReynolds St, Carthage, NC 28327 There is a QR code that you can watch & listen to a video describing the history of the Tyson & Jones Buggy Factory.

Taylortown History


In the early 1900’s Demus Taylor purchased land from the Tuff’s family in hopes of beginning a town for the work force of Pinehurst. Demus was a descendant western African tribe Ebu and his grandfather was one of the first slaves brought to the new world. The town, originally called Old Settlement, was later renamed Taylortown in honor of it’s founder. Further development of the town continued through the efforts of Demus’s son, Robert, who helped to found a school, which he called Academy Heights, for the settlement’s children. During the 1990’s the county’s year round school was built at approximately the same location and was aptly named Academy Heights, in tribute of the early school.

Taylortown was incorporated in 1987, due to the efforts of it’s citizens, including Geneva McRae. Ms. McRae a graduate of Academy Heights High School, served in WW II, helped supervise New York State Employment Service and, after retirement, returned to Taylortown, where she served as mayor for two terms.

The legacy of Demus and Robert Taylor is reflected by present day residents through their strong sense of community and pride in the town’s heritage.

Reference: Taylortown Website

Taylortown Museum

Midway, Aberdeen, NC
Greenbook Locations in Moore County

Historic African American Churches in Moore County

Our Lady of Victory

The first African American Catholic Church & School. the church was dedicated on March 19, 1935. The school was dedicated on September 8, 1942. The church also served as an informal community center for citizens of West Southern Pines. During the 1960’s Our Lady of Victory merged with St. Anthony’s Catholic Church of Padua to establish an integrated Catholic Church and the first integrated school in Moore County.

Mt Zion AME Church

1879 – Present
The property that the church sits on was given on September of 1879 for the soul purpose of ministry and education but may pre-date this as an established church. It has been stated in the past that Mt. Zion ministry may have started in a brush hollow, as many black churches did in that time. The church grounds also held a school and possibly other buildings including a dining hall added to the existing building. Many changes have been made since 1969 making the church a longstanding monument to be proud of. Information courtesy of the Town of Carthage Historical Museum

First Baptist Church Cameron

First started in the early 1900’s as a “brush harbor” meeting location. Located at 314 Carthage St, Cameron, NC. The church is still active. Picture from the book “Historic Cameron.”

More Information
Hood Chapel

The first church for Blacks in the area of Cameron, NC dating back to 1884 less than 20 years after the American Civil War. The Church is still active. Picture from the book “Historic Cameron.” Located at: 320 McNeil St Cameron, NC

More Information